University of the District of Columbia Athletic Department Hosts Student-Athlete Recognition Luncheon

University of the District of Columbia Athletic Department Hosts Student-Athlete Recognition Luncheon

Photo Album

WASHINGTON, DC – The University of the District of Columbia Athletic Department hosted its annual Student-Athlete Recognition Luncheon on Wednesday, April 25th, 2012 in the UDC Gym.

Master of ceremonies, Matt Rienzo (Associate Director of Athletics for Marketing and Communications) guided the 130 student-athletes and staff in attendance through a program that included remarks by Director of Athletics, Patricia Thomas, and the presentation of several awards including: the Competition Cup winner, Academic Awards, Team Awards (most valuable player and coach's award) and the Reslyn Henley Memorial Award.

The women's basketball team was crowned the winner of the first-ever UDC Competition Cup. The team is chosen based on three criteria: academic performance, attendance at other UDC sporting events and community outreach.

Associate Director of Athletics for Academics, Kendra Greene took over the microphone for the academic award portion of the event. She announced the names of six student-athletes who belong to the 4.0 GPA club (from the Fall 2011 semester), the 20 student-athletes who made the Dean's List (earned a 3.6+ GPA while maintaining a 3.0+ cumulative GPA) and the 49 student-athletes who made the Director's List (earned a 3.0 GPA for Fall 2011 semester).

Next was the presentation of team awards. See below for list of award winners by sport.

To conclude the event, Barry Conti, a 1968 District of Columbia Teachers' College alum, presented the Reslyn Henley Memorial Award to senior men's tennis player Tomas Gajdusek. Gajdusek is a Prague, Czech Republic native out of Gymnazium Nad Stolou. He has played three seasons at UDC after transferring from Brescia University (Kentucky) and has amassed a singles record of 39-12 and a doubles record of 27-19. Gajdusek was the 2009-10 East Coast Conference Men's Tennis Player of the year and he was named to the 2010 NCAA Division II East Region Singles Team. Then, in 2010-11, he finished ranked 9th in the NCAA East Region and 7th in doubles, was named the ECC Men's Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year and First-Team All-Conference. This season, Gajdusek earned Second Team All-ECC honors. A senior captain, he has been instrumental in transforming the program from a 2-11 team in 2009-10 into ECC Finalists the past two seasons. A superb student, Gajdusek studies Finance at the University of the District of Columbia.


Team Awards:

Men's Soccer:

Roque Hernandez (MVP)

Jose Garcia (Coach's Award)


Men's Cross Country:

Hillary Mugun (MVP)

Zephaniah Koech (Coach's Award)


Women's Cross Country:

Kaneesha Hollis (MVP)

Callister Jones (Coach's Award)


Women's Indoor Track & Field:

Callister Jones (MVP)

Shauna-Kay Creary (Coach's Award)


Women's Outdoor Track & Field:


TBD (Coach's Award)


Women's Basketball:

Jamilia Bonner & Lauren Brittingham (Co-MVP's)

Tadai Abilla (Coach's Award)


Men's Tennis:


TBD (Coach's Award)


Women's Tennis:

Jessica Nunez (MVP)

Kristyna Nepivodova (Coach's Award)



Vanessa Garley (MVP)

Kamene Rose (Coach's Award)


Men's Basketbll:

Nigel Munson (MVP)

Dishawn Bradshaw (Coach's Award)