University of the District of Columbia Women's Outdoor Track and Field Earns Team, Individual Regional Rankings

WASHINGTON, DC - The University of the District of Columbia women's track and field squad is currently ranked No. 7 in the East Region according to the latest USTFCCCA polls. Several individual Firebird athletes are also ranked regionally in their respective events.

Ranked as high as No. 4 last week, the Firebirds have a team total of 187.98 points, not far behind No. 6 Stonehill (198.39), who fell one spot from No. 6 last week. The top-five is as follows: No. 1 Georgian Court (499.16), No. 2 Umass Lowell (493.80), No. 3 American International (312.55), No. 4 Southern Connecticut (294.71), No. 5 New Haven (245.06).

Individually, Callister Jones (Fort Washington, MD - Oxon Hill HS) stands out among the pack as No. 1 in the East Region with a time of 56.33 in the 400M. She is also ranked 34th in the nation, but currently has the 21st fastest time. Teammate Kaneesha Hollis (Centreville, MD - North Caroline Senior HS) is 2nd in the East Region in the 400M with a 57.85.

Areial Clark (Kennesaw, GA - North Cobb HS), coming off personal bests in the shot put and javelin events this past weekend at the Colonial Relays, is ranked 3rd in the East Region in the shot put (13.13M) and 8th in the javelin event (33.56M). Meanwhile, Shauna-Kay Creary (Kingston, Jamaica - St. Andrew HS) is 5th in the long jump (5.18M), Tatyana Commock (Washington, DC - McKinley Tech HS) is 5th in the 100M (12.62) and Kaydian Jones (Kingston, Jamaica - St. Andrew HS) is 6th in the 200M (25.81).

Both relay teams continue to have tremendous success as well. The 4x400M team of Callister Jones, Kaneesha Hollis, Kimoy Mais and Kaydian Jones is ranked 2nd in the region and 19th nationally (with the 29th fastest current time) with its time of 3:55.25. Also, the 4x100M relay team of Atiya amis, Kaydian Jones, Jasmine Smith and Tatyana Commock (48.48) also rank 2nd in the region.

The Firebirds are back in action on Saturday, April 14th at the Johnson C. Smith Invitational.